party animals, fashionistas and fab people.

The WOW Factor of 19th Century European Art PART II: They’re some of the most beautiful paintings I’ve ever seen!

THE SCHAEFFER GALLERY

I’m not even surprised about what I felt when I saw all those paintings! My world just stopped when I was looking at each painting – it was like watching a Dolce and Gabbana, Dior, Chanel, Bottega Veneta or Louis Vuitton Fashion Show! BREATH-TAKING! Every painting signified romanticism, chivalry, beauty, class, elegance and inspiration. I’m so proud that my grandma is half-spanish – at least I have a drop of that blood! Looking at those magnificent pieces makes me feel I’m seeing the heart of Europe. I’ve always wanted to go so I’m sure I’ll get there someday, one way or another!

“Cimon and Iphigenia 1884” By: Lord Leighton Frederic (England) 1830-96

My Favorite Story: Galesus was the handsomest son of a noble Cypriot named Aristippus, but so uncouth and uneducated in his ways that he was known as Cimon (meaning “brute”). One afternoon he came across a girl, Iphigenia, asleep with her slaves in a meadow and became transfixed by her beauty. His love for Iphigenia caused Cimon to abandon his boorish ways and to acquire the accomplishments fitting to the nobility of his station.

“The visit of the Queen of Sheba to King Solomon 1881-90” By: Edward John Poynter 1836-1919


“The sea hath its pearls 1897” By: William Henry Margetson 1861-1940

“Chivalry 1885” By: Frank Dicksee 1853-1928

“Mariamne 1887” By: John William Waterhouse 1849-1917

“Diogenes 1882” By: John William Waterhouse 1849-1917

My Favorite Story: Diogenes is the most famous of the Cynic philosophers. He pursued the ideal of eliminating non-essential luxuries, thus choosing to live not in a house but in a large tub. Supposedly he would stalk the streets of Athens at night with the lantern vainly searching for an honest man.

“Wedded 1882” By: Frederic Lord Leighton 1830-96

THE OLDEST OF THEM ALL! WOW!

“Madonna and Child enthroned with Saints” By: Jacopo di Cione 1320-1396

Leave a Reply

